Tips

Manage device user permissions using My Sprint

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2013

You can control whether users can manage their own settings for:

  • Pictures and videos
  • Texting
  • Data
  • Voice settings

If you would prefer to manage these services yourself, you can block users from setting their own permissions on sprint.com.

To manage user permissions, you must have a valid My Sprint account and be set up with an account owner profile. Account owners can block all phones associated with their account. If you do not see a link to manage permissions, you should check your account status. Read more about the different levels of profile access on sprint.com.

Note: You cannot manage device user permissions for Nextel phones online.

Block device user permissions:

  1. Sign in to My Sprint with valid username and password at www.sprint.com
  2. Click the My Preferences tab
  3. Under Limits and Permissions, click Permissions
  4. Select the phone you wish to block settings for - a green checkmark will appear indicating that phone is selected
  5. Click Save
    • If changes were saved successfully, you will see the following confirmation message: Thank you! We've saved your changes.
  1. You will see a Blocked icon on the phone with permissions blocked. The blocked user will not be able to make changes to pictures and video, text messaging, voice and data settings for that phone, but can view the current settings status.
  2. Turn the phone off and back on for the new settings to take effect. These changes will take effect within 15 minutes.

Allow device user permissions:

  1. Sign in to My Sprint with valid username and password at www.sprint.com
  2. Click the My Preferences tab
  3. Under Limits and Permissions, select Permissions
  4. Select the phone you wish to allow settings for - a green checkmark will appear indicating the choice to allow settings for that phone
  5. Select Save
    • If changes were saved successfully, you will see the following confirmation message: Thank you! We've saved your changes.
  1. Restrictions will be removed and the user will be able to make changes to pictures and video, text messaging, voice and data settings for that phone.
  2. Turn the phone off and back on for the new settings to take effect. These changes will take effect within 15 minutes.

Note: If you have more than 100 devices on your account, only the first 100 show in My Sprint. To change the rest, contact us by dialing *2 on your Sprint phone.

Average User Rating
4.4
(7 ratings)

My rating

Contact us

Find a store


Recently Viewed

Recent discussions

Here are the steps to remove those usernames - It takes a few days for them to be removed from the system so allow for t
Author: OKIESTRO Date: 2011-10-21
 
Author: SprintCare Date: 2014-01-23
Sprint offers several levels of access to your account, bill, device info and more.  The information you provide wh
Author: wingland Date: 2011-01-12
People, ROOT your devices, please!   Using root explorer - system/audio/UI delete Shutter.oog and if you'd like yo
Author: Root-0 Date: 2013-05-31
HTC EVO 4G User Complaints Surface Some users report issues with the touchscreen and the device's responsiveness. &nbs
Author: MICHAELEWOLFE Date: 2010-07-31